Jeff Lee nominated for Australian of the Year

JeffLee Jeff Lee, one of the stars of Kakadu has been nominated for Australian of the Year.

Mr. Lee is the only member of the Djok clan, and the senior custodian of the Koongarra uranium deposit. He controls the fate of Koongarra and has decided never to allow the ecologically sensitive land to be mined. Koongarra is an area surrounded by the Kakadu National Park.

MEDIA RELEASE 14 OCTOBER 2013 COMMUNITY ADVOCATES RECOGNISED FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS IN NORTHERN TERRITORY AUSTRALIAN OF THE YEAR AWARDS 2014 Finalists in the Northern Territory Australian of the Year Awards 2014 include an environmental custodian, indigenous community advocate, historian, youth mentor, animal carer, singer-songwriter and charity fundraiser. The Northern Territory award finalists for 2014 are:

NORTHERN TERRITORY AUSTRALIAN OF THE YEAR 2014 Jeffrey Lee AM - Environmental Custodian (Kakadu) Shellie Morris - Singer-songwriter (Alawa) Richard ‘Reg’ Ramsden - Social Entrepreneur (Alice Springs) Giovanna Webb – Business Woman and Mentor (Leanyer)

NORTHERN TERRITORY SENIOR AUSTRALIAN OF THE YEAR 2014 Fran Briggs – Volunteer (Darwin) Klaus Helms - Indigenous Community Advocate (Gunyangara) John Obolevics - Event Promoter and Charity Fundraiser (Leanyer) Eddie Webber – Historian (Mataranka)

NORTHERN TERRITORY YOUNG AUSTRALIAN OF THE YEAR 2014 Jameson Casson - Community Contributor (Tennant Creek) Amy Hetherington - Youth Mentor (Parap) Jesse King – Teacher (Katherine) Emily Osborne - Youth Advocate (Nhulunbuy)

NORTHERN TERRITORY LOCAL HERO 2014 Chris ‘Brolga’ Barns - Animal Carer (Alice Springs) Tony Burns - Charity Fundraiser (Fannie Bay) Karen Eva-Stirk - Disability Support Worker (Alice Springs) Nicole Gallas - Mental Health Advocate (Alice Springs)

The Northern Territory Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Local Hero Award recipients will be announced on Thursday 7 November 2013 at the Darwin Convention Centre. The Northern Territory recipients will then join award recipients from all other States and Territories as finalists for the national awards, which will be held on 25 January 2014 in Canberra.

National Australia Day Council CEO, Mr Jeremy Lasek, said the Northern Territory finalists were a diverse group of a people whose achievements and contributions were truly inspiring. The whole of the Territory is well represented in this group of 16.

"The Northern Territory finalists are all amazing people dedicated to helping communities in the Northern Territory and beyond," said Mr Lasek.

"The work they do reflects the variety of talents of the people of the Northern Territory and we are privileged to be able to celebrate these great Australians."

The Commonwealth Bank has been a Major Sponsor of the Australian of the Year Awards for more than 30 years. Chief Executive Officer Ian Narev congratulated the Northern Territory finalists.

“On behalf of the Commonwealth Bank, I congratulate the finalists in the 2014 Australian of the Year Awards across all States and Territories. To emerge as a finalist from the thousands of nominated Australians is a great accomplishment. I wish you all the best of luck in the next stage of the program,” said Mr Narev.

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit