Kakadu wins Best Cinematography at AACTA Awards

The 3rd AACTA Awards Luncheon presented by Deluxe was held on Tuesday 28 January at Sydney’s The Star Event Centre, where the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) announced the first group of the 3rd AACTA Awards winners. The charming and often hilarious actor Patrick Brammall, who won the AACTA Award for Best Performance in a Television Comedy for his depiction of entrepreneur Sean Moody in ABC1’s comedy series A MOODY CHRISTMAS in 2013, hosted the sold out event.

The group of awards presented at the 3rd AACTA Awards Luncheon presented by Deluxe recognised the talent and innovation of practitioners working across television, documentary, short fiction film, short animation and feature film categories.

Joining Brammall to present the day’s 22 Awards was AACTA President Geoffrey Rush, and actors Richard Cawthorne & Damian Walshe-Howling (BIKIE WARS), Glen McMillan from WONDERLAND, Abby Earl and Arianwen Parkes-Lockwood (A PLACE TO CALL HOME). WENTWORTH’S Leanna Walsman, and BETTER MAN’s, Remy Hii - just to name a few.

Kakadu's Cinematographer Luke Petersen (left) and Cinematographer/Director Nick Robinson (right) with Geoffrey Rush. 3rd AACTA Awards Winners Announced

    The Australian feature film category was dominated by Baz Luhrmann’s THE GREAT GATSBY which won each of the six Awards for which it was nominated, including Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Costume Design, Best Editing, Best Sound, Best Original Music Score presented by APRA AMCOS; the film also received an AACTA Award for Outstanding Achievement in Visual Effects. The news had the 3rd AACTA Awards Luncheon host suggesting the word “Baz” be added to Australian dictionaries. Brammall explained the word would be used as a verb with the meaning “to gild or embroider an established thing until it sparkles; or the process of transforming the commonplace into the fabulous.”

    In Television drama, Jane Campion’s TOP OF THE LAKE proved to be the most awarded production winning two of the day’s six possible categories including Best Cinematography in Television and Best Sound in Television – both for Episode 5 The Dark Creator. The other four Television categories – Best Editing, Best Costume Design, Best Production Design and Best Original Music Score in Television Presented By APRA AMCOS – were won by MRS BIGGS, MISS FISHER’S MURDER MYSTERIES, PELEDA and REDFERN NOW.

    Three ABC TV documentaries received awards. Best Editing and Best Sound went to DESERT WAR, and Best Cinematography went to KAKADU. The fourth documentary category went to ABC’s REDESIGN MY BRAIN which won Best Documentary Television Program.

    Luke Peterson and Nick Robinson accepting the award. Photograph by Fiora Sacco

    HAMISH & ANDY’S GAP YEAR ASIA won Best Direction in a Television Light Entertainment or Reality Series and Best Children’s Television Series went to NOWHERE BOYS.

    The day’s AACTA Award for Best Short Film went to THE LAST TIME I SAW RICHARD and the AACTA Award for Best Animation went to A CAUTIONARY TAIL.

    Speaking of today’s Awards, AFI | AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said: “Today we announced our first 3rd AACTA Awards category winners at a wonderful luncheon event at The Star in Sydney. The event highlighted the exceptional work of our craftspeople during 2013, and I congratulate all of the nominees and today’s winners on behalf of the Australian Academy.

    “Many involved in today’s event are staying in Sydney and attending the 3rd AACTA Awards Ceremony on Thursday where we will reveal our next group of Award winners, including Best Actor and Actress and Best Film.

    It is going to be an amazing occasion in this week of Australia Day celebrations where we pay tribute to some of best screen talent and screen ambassadors including Jacki Weaver who will be presented the AACTA Raymond Longford Award for her service to our industry and Baz Luhrmann who through a wonderful performance will be celebrated for his creative power and the opportunities he provides to members of the Australian industry that work with him to realise his vision.

    I encourage all Australians to support these Australian legends and our hard working screen industry by watching the 3rd AACTA Awards Ceremony on Network Ten on Wednesday night to see which films and television productions are awarded as our nation’s best.”

    Nick Robinson and Kakadu's Commissioning Editor Karina Holden (right) with actress Jackie Weaver.

    NSW Minister for Tourism, Major Events and the Arts, George Souris, congratulated winners at the 3rd AACTA Awards Luncheon presented by Deluxe: “NSW is home to an impressive concentration of world-class creative skills, both in front of and behind the camera. More than half of national screen businesses, nearly 60 per cent of all Australians employed in the screen production industry, and 40 per cent of Australia’s creative industries workforce, is based here,” Mr Souris said. “The AACTA Awards, which is supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency Destination NSW, plays a key role in reinforcing both Sydney’s position as the creative services capital of Australia and NSW as the creative hub of the Asia-Pacific Region.”